The Storm Inside

Having depression is like having a personal storm cloud hovering over you.  With lightning strikes of negativity and a fog that distorts your view which only allows me to see the worst.  The worst of what is going on in the world, and more importantly the worst of myself.  It’s an illness that turns your mind against you and convinces you that any given thing can be linked to some in-adequacy of your own self.

Over the past week though, I have started to feel like my head is clearing a little bit, as if the fog is lessening.  Incapable of feeling true hope, I do feel cautiously optimistic that things are starting to turn around.  I’ve now been on my new medication for about three weeks.  It’s still early though, so anything can happen really.

Here’s to hoping for rainbows, and a continued quest to the pot of gold.

~Lenora

.

Leave a Reply

