Day 2: What Technology are you Grateful For?

It was so timely that this Gratitude came up today, because I am really having technology struggles right now.  I just recently upgraded my smart phone.  I have had the same model smartphone for 3-4 years, and it is was really outdated and not starting to work.  The phone I got is now 3 generations past what I had… and I can’t figure out how to use the darn thing.  It’s been a little frustrating to say the least.  So, while I am grateful to have this kind of technology in mylife, at present my smart phone is not the piece of technology I am most grateful to have.

I thought about this for a long time.  There is so much technology that I use in my daily life, I don’t know if I could pick just one thing to be grateful for.  There is my car, which takes me from place to place.  My washing machine and my dryer, which clean my clothes with minimal effort on my part.  My oven/and range which I can use to cook food in much less time than it would take to stoke a fire!  My refrigerator, keeps all my food cold and from rotting (too quickly).  All of these things are technology, that even 2 generations ago people might not have had access too!

I have to say though, if I am going to pick one thing that I am most grateful for it would be my dishwasher.  When I first moved into my house, I did not have one, and for most of my college life to be honest.  I had one in my previous homes however, and had gotten used to the luxury of just loading the plates and dishes in.  Over the winter though, my parents gifted me a new dishwasher and I finally go it installed.  Honestly, It is great!  I can fit nearly every dish I have in it.  Just an hour later, voila! Clean dishes that have been sanitized with steam.

It’s really something to make one grateful!

~Lenora

Leave a Reply

