Update on my Sprain

For those of you who haven’t been following, a quick recap.  March 31, I fell at Joker’s house and sprained my ankle.  Over the next two and a half months, I dealt with the recovery process, which was not smooth sailing.  You can read more about it here.

At any rate, I wanted to post an update for those of you who have been following… and it’s great news!

I have officially graduated from therapy.  I even have a T-shirt to prove it!  I am really grateful to my therapist H.  She really understood why I was pursuing treatment and helped me to progress!  I am now pain free, with nearly full range of motion in my ankle.

Furthermore, I have realized something.  One of the main excuses that I give to myself about not working out is that during the week, I just don’t have the time.  And on the weekends, I want to relax.  It’s funny though, how I managed to set aside an hour 2x/week to go to therapy, and managed to work out for nearly 3/4 of the time.

So I have decided that I am going to continue to make time to get to exercise.  I have decided that I will be re-visiting my love for yoga this month.  I have already researched and selected a yoga studio to start with and I am very excited to get going this week!

I decided to pursue yoga because it was something that I practiced a lot in college.  I really enjoyed learning the poses and mastering new ones!  I even was certified in yoga, many years ago to teach beginning classes.  So it’s something familiar.  It’s also relatively low impact, which I think will be good to start to get my body back into shape.  Finally, yoga has so many stress reduction benefits and there are numerous research studies as to the benefits to your mental health both with exercise in general and yoga in particular.  I need that.

Glad to be able to share something positive!  I was very down about this ankle injury and often felt as though it would never heal.  I am so happy that I was proven wrong.

~Lenora

Leave a Reply

