Ravioli Party

Last night, I had my family over to celebrate Father’s Day!  I had originally planned to have a “Ravioli Party” at the end of March, but when I sprained my ankle I was no longer able to follow through with it.  So, instead we decided that it would be an appropriate father’s day gift for my Dad, since one of his favorite foods is indeed Ravioli (and pizza)!

Because it was such a busy week for me, I decided to make them on Sunday and freeze them.  All of the cooking websites said that you can do just this, and I will be darned if they didn’t work!  I was nervous though, because the technique I used for the first batch resulted in them freezing to the tray in an epic fail, (FYI, you can patch ravioli, it’s just not pretty!)

Making ravioli is actually not that difficult once you get the hang of it.  First you have to make the pasta dough, but then you can just roll it out into long sheets.  I did two methods, one where I folded the dough in half to create the pockets and the other where I used a ravioli press.  I will stand by the press all the way!  There was a much greater uniformity and they held together quite nicely.  I even got instructions on how to use it properly after the fact, so I’m super excited about that!

For the fillings we had a meat center that included, chicken, shallots, Parmesan and ricotta and for the spinach we had spinach, ricotta, Parmesan and nutmeg for ingredients.

Joker whipped up a Garlic and Butter Sauce and a Bolagnese, which were perfect pairings.  We also had a salad and Italian Bread (which I was sad that I didn’t a chance to try making from scratch!).

Overall, the food was good, but the more important part of the night was the family coming together.  It is very difficult to make time to sit with family and have a nice meal sometimes, and I was so happy that we got to make it work this week.  It is sometimes difficult for me to do things on a “work night,” but with help, it all worked out perfectly!

I love having dinner with a group of people that I care about a lot.  It’s been a family tradition that these kinds of meals are very special, and over the years it ebbs and flows with how often that we can get together.  Now being more established in my own home,  I hope that we can continue the great tradition of family (and friend!) dinners!

Until next time!

~Lenora

 

 

Leave a Reply

