Transitions at Work

It’s been a weird week

~Lenora Phoenix

Okay, so it’s a bit pretentious to quote yourself, but with the frequency with which I’ve been uttering this phrase lately it seems justified.  Yet week after week, things have just been… well in a word, weird.

I think that the transitions at work really started in January.  It was around the middle of the month, that I was offered a temporary position that was much closer to home.  Though I had my reservations, I jumped at the opportunity.  My commute at the time was taking me about 45 min (On a good day).  My current commute takes me only fifteen min, and it’s all back roads.

However, the transition was not all peaches and cream.  I quickly found out that the new place needed a lot of help.  The role I was in however, was limited and my ability to help was also limited.  So thus became an extremely stressful work environment, with pressures from the building and my boss weighing on me.  Then the manager there was unexpectedly re-assigned and I was temporarily in charge while we awaited our new manager.   She arrived a few weeks ago, and is lovely.  It’s tough for staff though to feel like they are in a state of transition, and the unknown of a new boss

I am now in the process of transitioning into my new position, where I will be managing an outpatient therapy clinic.  Essentially I will be building a program from the ground up.  I am excited about the opportunity.  At the same time, I am terrified that I will fail.

My career has been in a constant flux since moving back to my home town just about 2 years ago.  I have transitioned between three different companies in that time, trying to find a good fit.  This is a lot for a person who doesn’t really love to change!  Prior to this I worked the same job for five years, and felt I would have stayed with the company for longer still had I not moved.

I also sometimes doubt that I have selected the correct career path for myself.  The problem is, I am not sure what else I would want to do.  My job is busy, fast paced and stressful.  I would like to work somewhere that I could work at a slightly slower pace.  It would also be reassuring to know that no action on my part could have a dire consequence that could affect someone’s life.

Maybe I’ll just run away and join the circus.  I think I’d be a cute clown.

~Lenora

 

 

Leave a Reply

