A Letter To a Special Woman

Author’s Note:  I am taking a departure today from the 30 day blog challenge to write a letter to a very special lady in my life.  Never fret, we will be back to the regular scheduled program very soon.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Dear Gram,

I intended this to be posted yesterday, but better late than never!  I know right now you are probably very curious about what this is all about. I know it’s not my usual style, but I wanted you to know how special you are to me.  I also know as my first official subscriber, you will definitely read this when you get the e-mail update.  😉

I love you.  I try to tell you as often as I can.  We both know life is fragile, and I never want you to think you aren’t important to me.  It always brightens up my day when you send me a text, and I hope I always brighten yours too when I call or send you post-cards.  I know that there have been times in my life that I have not been good about keeping in touch.  I know that you understand now why that happened.  Thank you for understanding.

There are so many things that I love about you.  I love that I am not only welcome to come to your house any time, but that you are so happy to see me.  Every time!  It’s nice to know that there are places in my life like that.  Do you remember when I used to work at that retail store when I was sixteen???  I loved that I had such a long break and that you guys were so close that I could pop in for lunch, even if you weren’t there.  It’s one of my fonder memories of that job.

It’s funny because I don’t really recall us cooking together a lot as a child.  However, you are the first person that I will call if I have a question about cooking.  You always have the answer!  I’m not sure how, but you do.  It must be the years you spent cooking professionally that allows you to know all the tricks.  All I know is that it’s much easier to call you than to try to look it up.  I think that the knowledge of the previous generation is very overlooked by my generation.  Yeah Google is okay, but someone who has actually done something can tell you more about it than and article can.

There are many people in our family that have great laughs, but I love yours.  When you laugh, it’s almost as if you just can’t contain it.  It’s like it just pops out of you.  It’s super contagious.  I love that you don’t take yourself to seriously.  I think that is one of the things that you have taught me, is not to take myself too seriously.  Even if the family is teasing you, you are the first to laugh.  I try to emulate that.

We share a love of historical romance novels, country music, and silly animated films.  I appreciate that you have always been open to my romantic relationships, like that time I dated the French model I met on the internet.

The point is, I love you times infinity and I just wanted to make sure that you knew how special you are to me.

Lots of Love,

Your Favorite (Oldest) Granddaughter,

~Lenora

 

 

 

One thought on “A Letter To a Special Woman

Leave a Reply

