Day 28: Most Embarrassing Moment

Day 28: Most Embarrassing Moment

It happened when I was a cat.

A cat in the second grade play.  The title of the play was some sort of animal review.  Each of the second grade classes had a song featuring a different animal.  My class… Cats.

Freddie Wilson had a cat that he didn’t want to keep,
He offered it for sale, but no-one would buy it cheap.
He called upon the preacher to ask for his advice,
The preacher said just leave him here, for it would be so nice.

But the cat came back, he wouldn’t stay away,
He was sitting on the porch on the very next day.
The cat came back, he didn’t want to roam,
The very next day he was home sweet home.

Freddie put the cat on board a ship was headed for Ceylon,
The ship was overloaded, about forty thousand ton.
Not many miles from shore that gallant ship went down,
There wasn’t any doubt about it, everybody drowned.

But the cat came back, he wouldn’t stay away,
He was sitting on the porch on the very next day.
The cat came back, he didn’t want to roam,
The very next day he was home sweet home.

Freddie put the cat on board with a man in a balloon,
Who would give the cat away to the man up in the moon.
The balloon it didn’t rise, it burst in bits instead,
Ten miles away they found the man stone dead.

But the cat came back, he wouldn’t stay away,
He was sitting on the porch on the very next day.
The cat came back, he didn’t want to roam,
The very next day he was home sweet home.

I should also point out that in the second grade I had a nemesis.  I don’t know why, there is no explanation for it.  Perhaps a perceived slight? I found her obnoxious?  Or maybe she was just more seemingly well liked and put together than I was.  I don’t really have the answer.  The thing is though, I did NOT like this girl.

So, guess who I got to stand next to during the second grade play???

You got it, my nemesis.

So the skit was easy.  We had to walk onto stage, sing our song and walk off the stage.  We had a dress rehearsal in the morning and presented the play in front of the entire school.  It went swimmingly with no mishaps.

My mom was so excited about the play.  She borrowed a camcorder from someone and set up to video us in the evening.  This was a pretty big deal for us because we didn’t have one of our own.  It was 1992 people, pre-cell phones, pre-social media and people didn’t record every moment of their lives.  So there is very little footage of me as a child on film.

It is unfortunate that this was one of those few times there is video footage.

So anyways, the stage is set.  I’m in my adorable cat ears and tail, curly blonde hair neatly braided, a tail pinned to my bum, and whiskers drawn on my nose and face.  I’m standing next to my nemesis, and we are starting to sing the song and swish our little tails.

Second verse starts and my nemesis starts SINGING THE WRONG VERSE.  I am so mad.  We practiced so many weeks for this and she’s messing it up!  So I start screaming at her in the middle of the song.  “No!  You’re singing it wrong!  That’s not the right words!!!”

And this is my most embarrassing moment.

Because she was not singing the wrong verse.

Because I yelled at her in front of everyone at the show.

Because my mom was video taping me.

Because my dad was there.

If you hang out with me long enough, I’m sure you are bound to witness other embarrassing things!  This however, is the most embarrassing for me… or at least my first most embarrassing moment.

~Lenora

Leave a Reply

