Day 26: What’s Your Hidden Talent

Day 26: What’s Your Hidden Talent

When I first saw today’s blog topic I immediately though “Oh man, what could I possibly have to write about?  I don’t have any talents at all, let alone any that people don’t know about.”  Then I said to myself, “Self, you have got to stop with the negativity.  You are pretty gosh-darn cool, and you have a lot of talents to share with the world.”

So what is my hidden talent?  Well one of the first things that came to mind is that I make the best sugar cookies you will ever have.

The thing is though, that talent actually came from my mom.  She was the keeper of the sugar cookie recipe before me and passed down the secrets to me.   I learned from her how to mix the dough, the perfect thickness to cut the shapes, and how to make the icing.  She even taught me to check the bottoms to make sure they aren’t too brown because we all knew that Gram would come over and flip them over to check that we did it right (my grandmother was a cook by profession).  I realized though, baking is one of my mom’s hidden talents.  Being a one hit wonder in the kitchen, as I am, isn’t really a hidden talent.

So what is my hidden talent?  Well yesterday I took the day off from writing because it was a rough day.  I was still recovering from my foot injury, and Day 25’s post since it was very emotional to write.  Then I had a busy day visiting with family, who wanted to make sure that I was indeed not dead, and decided to take the day off to relax.  I read a book, “Gone Girl” by Gillian Flynn, and watched a movie “Unbreakable” directed by M. Night Shyamalan.

It just came to me right now, as I was typing what I did yesterday and why I sough respite from this entry as to what my secret talent is.  I have a very uncanny ability to figure out how the story is going to end.  I am particularly good at doing this with movies.  Joker has picked a great number of movies for me to watch that are classics, which I have never seen.  I drive him crazy, because I can usually figure out what’s going very early on and it drives him bananas.  I figured out “The Usual Suspects” within the first ten min, “The Sixth Sense” in the first half hour (that one annoyed my college roommates actually), and “Fight Club” I had figured as well.  I think it’s because I have an active imagination and love mysteries.

It takes a lot to surprise me in general actually, and I am really good about figuring out secrets.  I think that this talent also relates to my keen empathetic abilities.  I am very in tune to the energies that surround me.  I know when those close to me are having a good or bad day.  I know when they are hiding something from me too!   So you better be extra sneaky if you want to surprise me.  😉

Hopefully as I get more into writing stories, I will be able to translate my ability to predict how something is going to end into a story that will have an ending that will surprise everyone else!  Then again perhaps not.  Only time will tell.

~Lenora

 

Leave a Reply

