Day 14: 3 Healthy Habits

Day 14: 3 Healthy Habits

I’m a little baffled by this writing prompt.  Do you want to know about three healthy habits that I partake in?  Or is this just asking for a list of three habits that I happen to know are healthy?  I feel like it’s very similar to the post that asked about the 5 goals that I am working towards, but perhaps that’s just because I am working on adopting more healthy habits?  I eventually decided that I will write about 3 habits that are healthy that I (generally seem to follow).

  1. Drink Lots of Fluids – Generally speaking the medical profession recommends that the average human consume about 2 to 2.5 L of fluids per day.  One thing that I have always been good at is making sure that most of my fluids are non caloric.  I am a HUGE fan of water, especially if it has ice cubes in it.  I also almost never consume caffeine either.  I am also newly discovering the joy of flavored seltzers.
  2. Meditate – One of the ways I deal with my anxiety is to meditate.  I am a HUGE fan of the guided meditations of Michael Sealey. His voice is so soothing to me.  In addition to the meditations I practice diaphragmatic and deep breathing, which helps to calm center and ground me.
  3. Seek Opportunity to Improve – Whether it’s learning a new skill via a course of class, attending therapy and learning a new coping skill, or reading up on a topic of interest, I never pass by the opportunity to make myself better.  I think what makes this habit healthy is that I am willing to recognize my shortcomings and seek to improve them.

I think that it’s always easier for me to highlight my shortcomings, than to identify things that I am doing that I am doing well or that are good for me.  I do think that I have made significant improvements to be healthier, especially in the past two years.

Leave a Reply

