Day 12: Your Favorite Childhood Book

Day 12: Your Favorite Childhood Book.

It will probably not come as a surprise to anyone reading this that I love to read.  Some of my fondest childhood memories are of heading out to the town library with my mom and our oversized tote to bring the books home in.  Like a real life Matilda, I worked my way through the picture books and nearly every book in the children’s section.  I even read all the books on the one shelf of Young Adult Fiction (this was pre-Harry Potter people, YA was not a thing yet) before moving on to the classics like Jane Austen, Charles Dickens and Terry Prachett.

Before I really knew how to read on my own though, I had my mom to read to me.  I could sit for hours listening to her read, which is probably why she limited the bedtime routine to just 2 books.  We could pick something that we had picked up at the library, or a book from our shelf.  Our shelf had an eclectic collection of books that had been passed down, given as gifts, picked up at tag sales or brought home from RIF (Reading is Fundamental).

I thought a lot about which were my favorites when I was small in my “pre-reading-by-myself” phase and just two books came to mind.  I couldn’t decide, so I decided to write about them both.

 

There's a monster book
Borrowed this picture from Amazon.

The first was this Little Golden book that was called “There is a Monster at the End of This Book.”  Though Grover was not my favorite of the Sesame Street characters, I did love this book.  Maybe it was because my mom would make the Grover voice when she read it!  To summarize for anyone who has not read it.  Grover spends the entire book telling the reader that there will be a monster at the end of the book.  He tries to keep the reader from turning the pages, using various things and even building a brick wall.  Despite his best efforts and much to his chagrin, the reader KEEPS TURNING THE PAGE.  At the end of the book, he realizes that he is in fact the monster in question.  Sweet, lovable, Grover.

 

There is one other book that I really truly loved to have read to me though, and this is the one that I am going to select as my favorite!  I have to be honest, It has been probably 20 years since I have read, seen or thought of this book.  All I could remember was that it was about Donald Duck and pineapple pizza.  It’s also humorous to note that when I asked my mom what she thought my favorite book was as a child, her little answer was “Probably that one about Donald Duck and the Pineapple pizza.”  So it turns out that Google knew the name of the book and it’s actually “Donald Duck and the One Bear.”

 

Donald Duck and the One Bear
I also borrowed this picture from Amazon. They have everything on that site.

Since it has been so long since I read it though, I had to reference the book to remember what the exact story line was.  Donald Duck and his nephew are making pizzas.  They leave to pick up Daisy, and leave the pizzas to cool (I guess in Donald’s world pizzas are like other pies and should be eaten room temperature?) Anyways, when they leave this bear comes by and smells the pizza.  He finds 2 not to his liking but Donald’s special combination of pineapple and sardines is his favorite.  He then goes on to sit in different chairs and then ultimately takes a nap in Donald’s bed.  When Donald comes home he goes NUTS.  His pizza eaten, his chair tipped over and a scary bear in his bed!  The bear’s owner shows up and the bear is actually named “Pizza” as his owner also owns a pizza restaurant.  To make amends for the damages that Pizza the bear has caused, the pizza guy offers Donald three new pies.  All are Pizza the Bear’s favorite toppings, Pinapple and Sardines.  Huey, Dewey and Louie are so disappointed, but Donald is thrilled!

 

I think it would be interested in knowing what stories have stuck with other people from their childhood.  Feel free to leave me a comment with your favorite childhood book or books.

~Lenora

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

