Day 7 – 5 Favorite Songs

Day 7: Your 5 Favorite Songs

My family has a saying “There is a song for every occasion.” If you spend enough time with us, you will hear us randomly burst out into song as the occasion warrants. Today I had to select 5 of my favorite songs.  The five I selected are actually the first 5 that popped into my head, and so I’m going with it and not overthinking!

Natasha Beningfield “Unwritten”

“Drench yourself in words unspoken
Live your life with arms wide open
Today is where your book begins
The rest is still unwritten”

This song has been on my playlist since it first hit the radio waves.  I really do love this song, because for me it’s always a reminder that each of us is an author to our own life story.  For me, it’s a reminder that what’s in the past isn’t important because the story starts today and it’s not yet written.  It can be whatever we want it to be.

Meghan Trainor “No”

My name is no
My sign is no
My number is no
You need to let it go
You need to let it go
Need to let it go

When this song came out it was actually my dad that told me about it and insisted I needed to look it up.  He told me that this song reminded him of me and a break up that I was going through at the time.  The music is super catchy, so it’s fun to sing along too.  More importantly no matter how hard someone pushes you into something, it’s okay to stand up and say “No. This isn’t what I want. Now back it up.”

Frozen “Let it go”

It’s funny how some distance makes everything seem small
And the fears that once controlled me can’t get to me at all

When I get sad or feel like I need motivation, this is my go to song.  I put this on a YouTube Karaoke and sing as loud as I can.  “Let it go” is a song about letting go of the idea of who you are supposed to be and letting yourself be the person you are.  My favorite line is the one above, that always reminds me that perspective is very important.  Also, this is a Disney song that actually uses the word “fractals,” so it’s hard not to love it.

Nickelback “If Everyone Cared”

If everyone cared and nobody cried
If everyone loved and nobody lied
If everyone shared and swallowed their pride
Then we’d see the day when nobody died

I really like Nickelback.  There I said it!  But I find the lead singer Chad Kroeger to have such a soothing voice.  This song, is pretty deep for them and I love the message that if we all lived as the best versions of ourselves and cared for one another the world could be a lot better place.  I also love the music video for this song and if you haven’t watched it you should.

If Everyone Cared Music Video   <— Seriously you should watch it…  I’ll wait.

Lukas Graham “Happy Home”

Though I really feel sometimes I am on my own
I know I got a lot of love and a happy home

This song is pretty autobiographical of Lukas Forchammer (the least singer of Lukas Graham) and it’s a beautiful story.  I ended up selecting this song because every time I hear these lines it really resonates with me.  Though I often feel alone, there is a lot of love in my life and I do have a very happy home.

~ Lenora

Bonus Tracks: Songs that remind me of my exchange daughters

V from Germany: “Call Me Maybe” Carly Rae Jepson

M from Thailand: “Cups” Anna Kendrick

A from Mexico: “Story of My Life” One Direction and anything of the Taylor Swift 1989 album.

I from Thailand: “Stressed Out” 21 Pilots

Leave a Reply

