Day 4 – Your Dream Job

Day 4 – Your Dream Job

When I first selected this challenge, I tried to select one that had topics that I thought would be more on the simple side since it’s my first time writing a blog!  I told my friend though last night that every day it seems that the entries are more and more difficult.  This entry in particular I have struggled with because being honest with myself, I’m not sure that what I am currently doing is in fact my dream job.

I would love a job that I could do from home.  For one thing, I hate having to leave my puppies home alone.  They get very sad when they know that I am going to leave, and I feel guilty for going.  I also hate having to commute.  Recently I transferred and cut my commute through a large city that took 45-75 min to a commute of 15 min on back roads.  That’s been great, but if my commute was just walking from my bedroom to an office… That would be even better!

My dream job would also be super flexible.  While I like the comfort of a routine, I don’t necessarily love the idea of being married to being someplace at a particular time every day.  Punctuality is not my strong suit.  It would also be nice that if I had a Dr’s appointment, that I could work around it and not have to take an entire day off because the only appointment I can get is in the middle of the day.

I also think that my dream job would allow me to work less hours and get more pay, or would be so much fun I wouldn’t care if I were working a lot of hours.  This is a big one.  I don’t need a mansion by the sea to be happy, but the idea of being debt free without having to work 90 hours a week is pretty appealing to me.  I would also not be opposed to a job that I worked fewer than 5 days a week, even if they were longer work hours on the days that I did work.

It is also important that my work feel fulfilling.  I don’t want to do a job that is not meaningful in some way.  Whether it involves helping people heal or bringing people joy, at the end of the day I want to feel like what I am doing is making a difference to someone.

The truth of the matter is I don’t really know what my dream job is because if I did, I would go out and find a way to get it.  Perhaps it doesn’t really exist.  Perhaps I need to keep looking, or maybe someday it will find me.

~Lenora

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

